/ terminate

Terminate Machine Help

If you no longer require a machine, you can remove it from existence completely, or to put it simply, terminate it.

Terminating a machine in Ronin is permanent and irreversable!!!
There are no automatic backups, no reversal of accidental deletion. You are solely responsible for any machines that exist in the cloud and it is up to you to ensure those things are properly backed up!

Before you terminate a machine, it might be a good idea to go through this list and ensure you don't delete important information.

Make sure you have considered:

  • Snapshoting any important volumes associated to this machine, in case you need to restore Operating Systems / Data
  • Detaching any storage volumes you wish to keep as project volumes, or clicked the toggles to show Keep on Termination (on the machine summary or the terminate modal - more info below)
  • Packaging this machine - in case you wish to fire up this exact machine again

Ok, so you're really, really sure?! Alright..

Lets get started

To get to the terminate machine modal, navigate to the Machine Summary page.

Screenshot-20180305142948-1260x731

Select the Settings tab on the machine you want to terminate, then click Terminate Machine

terminate-nav

And below, the Terminate Machine Modal!

Screenshot-20180228152039-1498x937

In the first card, a summary of the machine you are about to terminate

Screenshot-20180228152048-548x211

And in the next section, a summary of all the storage devices currently attached to this machine.

Screenshot-20180228152101-558x219

Here's your last chance to keep this volume! See the Keep on termination toggle on the right hand side? Switch this on for each volume to keep it when the machine is terminated.

You can also check this on and off by clicking the Delete / Keep on Termination toggle on the machine summary page, shown below

Screenshot-20180318144918-504x405

Any volumes that aren't checked to be kept on termination will be automatically deleted with the machine!! Be careful!

And finally, the TERMINATE MACHINE button at the bottom of the modal.

This is THE button! Press this and the machine will be sent to self destruct!

Screenshot-20180318142046-494x417

And then smile! You just successfully terminated your machine.

giphy-2

SUBSCRIBE